Melbourne: The First Few Months

I’m in love: I found my new favorite city!

Melbourne, the capital of Victoria in the southeast part of the continent, is an absolute dream to live in. The only aspect of Melbourne that I’m not thrilled with is it’s famously sporadic weather, but the weather’s really not even that bad. I have been here for six months on the Working Holiday Visa, working as an Au Pair and in a few hospitality positions.

Today I thought I’d write a bit about the reasons why I chose and fell in love with Melbourne. 

City Life: Before my move, people would always tell me that Melbourne is a cultural, artsy city with a European vibe, and I definitely understand this reputation now. There is always something fun to check out in Melbourne. Pop up beer gardens, food truck parks, art galleries, a variety of markets, gigs, festivals, outdoor movie cinemas…. the list goes on and on.  When the weather is behaving, people flock to beer gardens, rooftop bars, and sidewalk cafes. During winter, the fun continues as footy (Australian Rules Football) season starts. I’ve never seen a city come to life so much over a sport! It’s really exciting to watch the games, even if, like me, you get seats in the literal top row and don’t fully understand the rules.

IMG_9130.jpg

Western Bulldogs vs. Hawthorn Hawks at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, or ‘the G’

img_3655

The Docklands Backlot Drive-In Cinema-  Passengers with a view of the moon rising over the CBD in my car with a blanket

IMG_4004.jpg

So stoked I got to check out the Australian Open in January!

IMG_3916.jpg

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Melbourne’s Night Noodle pop up market was the perfect place to enjoy after work sunshine in November

Getting Outside the City:  I have had such a blast on heaps of day trips and weekend adventures to some seriously gorgeous nature spots. I will be writing a blog post about my trips in detail later, but here are photos of a few of my favorite spots, all within a few hours drive away from the city!

IMG_9330.jpg

DCIM124GOPROimg_1337img_4120

Public Transit: The key to making a city liveable, in my opinion! The bus, tram, and train network is extensive and not at all difficult to figure out. I will say that it’s not exactly cheap, at $4.10 for an unlimited 2 hour travel period. This means that even if you are only going 1 km down the road, you are paying the full fare. However, a beach day down the coast will also cost you the same price!

Food: The brunch scene is unreal. Smashed avo, sourdough toast, poached eggs, and lattes are ubiquitous, thank god.  I could not be happier about the abundance of brunch spots to explore.  I honestly wasn’t one of those people who photographed their food until I moved to this city, but look what I’ve found!

IMG_3770.jpg

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Both photos are from Top Paddock in Richmond

People: I have found Australians to in general be laid-back, smiley, and good-natured.  I think I’ve noticed the friendliness and sincerity in the tone of small talk. Every Australian I have met has put in effort to make me feel welcome, which makes it a great place to be a foreigner. I think this probably stems from the fact that Aussies tend to be world travelers.

All in all, I am stoked to be here, and I’m already looking into the Working Holiday Visa extension… more on that later 🙂

What’s your favorite part about this amazing Aussie city?!

Leave a Reply

